The Parish of Chapel-en-le-Frith is home to numerous old halls, many of which are still inhabited today. The Five Halls circular walk will take you past five of these historic buildings.
Discover the Halls of Old Squires of the area with lovely views of pretty hamlets along the way. Bowden Hall was built in
Tudor style in the first half of the 19th century; the hamlet of Ford is believed to be the oldest part of the Parish and is home to Ford Hall which dates back to at least the reign of Henry III (1216-1272); Bradshaw Hall dates back at least to the 12th century and has remained in the ownership of the same family for 800 years; Bagshaw Hall is now a farm house but its origins date back to the 14th century and the house set in the gardens is New Slack Hall, known locally as Prettyfields.
Map & Directions
Parking is available in the Town centre or Thornbrook Road. Start the walk from the Market Place heading alongside St Thomas Becket Church.