AboutRiddings was first recorded in the 12th century. Its ancient name was 'Ryddying' meaning a clearing in the grove, it was probably a small hamlet in the middle of Sherwood Forest. Coal and iron was mined in a small way for centuries. The village boasts a pub with a thatched roof known by the locals as the 'Thack' its official name being the Moulders Arms. Across the road from the 'Thack' is the Seven Stars public house built in 1702 on the site of the old St Magdalen chapel, which was a chapel of ease built to save villagers the trip to Alfreton for worship. Riddings park was originally owned by the Oakes family, the local landowners, and was and left by the family to the community. The local cricket club play here during the cricket season.
- Free Parking
Map & Directions
Riddings is close to the Nottinghamshire/Derbyshire border and is situated approximately midway between Alfreton and Ripley.
Accessible by Public Transport: Alfreton station is 4 miles away.